Sites galleries

This page lists the groups of the sites that are reviewed in

Home > Sites > Gallery of Sites

    Since there are hundreds of sites covered by, the sites are presented in a 2-level fashion, where the first level are groups of sites – located within a smaller region in Israel – and the second level expands the group. This page shows only the 1st level – the groups of sites.

    For each group a short description is given, and an animation of the selected sites. Select any of the groups to further explore its sites, by clicking on the title on the left side.


   The Holy City of Nazareth is the childhood home of Jesus. It is a center of Christian faith and pilgrimage. Nazareth is located in the hills  in the center of the Galilee in Northern Israel.

Sea of Galilee

   The lake is located in the west side of the Galilee, a major source of water supply, center of tourism, and rich with history. The home town of Jesus was in Capernaum, and where most of his travels and acts were performed in the area.

Lower Galilee

   This group of sites are located in the central section of the north of Israel.  The group includes sites between the Yizreel valley and the upper Galilee, excluding Nazareth.

Yizreel Valley

   This group of sites are located in the southern section of the north of Israel, in and around the Yizreel (Jezreel) valley.

Acre (Akko)

  Acre (Akko) is one of the largest ancient cities in the Galilee, and its sites are grouped separately.

West Galilee

This group of sites is located on the shores of the Galilee, in the north west side of Israel. It includes sites from Mount Carmel up to Lebanon, excluding Acre.

Upper Galilee

 The Upper Galilee group of sites are located in the northern side of Israel. This group of sites excludes the shore of the Med sea, on the west side of the upper Galilee.


The Golan group of sites are located in the north-east side of Israel, between the Yarmuk river on the south to Mount Hermon on the north.


 The Carmel sites include Haifa and the Mount Carmel sites. This area is known for its world class prehistoric cave sites, prophet Elijah’s area, Roman and Byzantine sites.


   The Holy City of Jerusalem is for 3000 years the capital of the Israelites, Jewish Kingdom and State of Israel.


 The Sharon is located in the west of the center of Israel, between the hills and the shore. The sites that are grouped here include Caesarea, Jaffa, and other sites in the center of the Country.


 Samaria (Shomron) is a region in the center of Israel, north of Jerusalem.


Judea lies in the center of Israel, around Jerusalem.


The Negev is located in the south part of Israel, and is mostly a desert.

Beit Kerem

The sites inside and around the valley of Beit-Kerem and Karmi’el in the central Galilee.


      Hilazon creek

The sites in the region of Hilazon (Chilazon) creek, in the north of the lower Galilee.

Jordan Valley    The sites of the Jordan valley- the eastern side of central Israel.

Dead Sea

The sites on the west side of the Dead Sea and on the foothills of the Judean desert.

Shefela     The area of the Shefela – the Lowland – in the south western side of Israel.


  To see a complete list of sites in a tabular form, go to the sites overview page.

Map of Regions:

The following map of Israel shows the location of these regions. – walk with us through the sites of the Holy Land


This page was last updated on Feb 24, 2018 (https issue)






Sponsored links + sample links to BibleWalks sites: